Lollapalooza 2009 – Day 1

Lollapalooza 2009 Souvenir Ticket
Lollapalooza 2009 Souvenir Ticket

This entry was begun while staying at the Hard Rock Hotel in downtown Chicago for Lollapalooza 2009. It is 1 am local time. I have been up since 4:30am in order to catch my very bumpy flight to get here this morning. But enough of that, on to the reason I’m here in the first place!

It began to rain as soon as my plane landed and continued throughout the day. I made my way down to Grant Park, grabbed a $5 can of Bud light, and went from stage to stage to see who was playing.

The first band I saw while coming through the gates was White Lies.

White Lies

(White Lies)

I didn’t really stick around long to watch them. It was time to see what else was going on, so I headed off to the south side of the park where The Gaslight Anthem was playing.

I went back to the Playstation stage to see Bon Iver’s set.

Bon-Iver---Lollapalooza

(I swear, they are in the background somewhere)

By the time I got there, it was just about over and the rain was really coming down. Rather than risk getting sick for the rest of the weekend (and missing Ben Folds in the process), I decided to go back to the hotel and dry off. I’m pretty sure a Sham Wow would have come in handy right about now.

At this point, it was raining pretty hard and I was getting soaked, so instead of risking getting sick for the rest of the weekend, I went back to the Hard Rock to dry off and take a much needed nap. Due to this, I missed a lot of bands I was looking forward to seeing, but did find a pretty nifty backpack outside my door filled with all kinds of goodies including CD’s, t-shirts, Fuze beverage, some coffee, and condoms. Score!!

I went back down to the show around 7pm to try and catch Peter, Bjorn, and John which sadly, I missed. I was able to see Depeche Mode though:

DepecheMode1 - LollapaloozaDepecheMode3-LollapaloozaDepecheMode2-Lollapalooza

Depeche Mode were soo much better than I expected them to be live. I was really blown away. Hearing some of the classics was definitely a highlight. I skipped Kings of Leon on my way out because, well, they just suck, are overplayed, and shouldn’t have been at Lollapalooza.

On the way back to the hotel, I came across this:

Now, I realize this is public art and all that, but damn…that’s some scary stuff!

Anyway, watch for day 2 of my much better Lollapalooza coverage this week!

Leave a Reply

