Lollapalooza 2009 – Day 3

Friendly Fires - Day 3

Friendly Fires

It was already hot and sticky by 9:30 am when I left the Hard Rock to go find some much needed breakfast. After wandering a different part of the city for a bit and working up quite a sweat (and stopped to take my 10th shower of the weekend), I arrived for day 3 of Lollapalooza just in time to catch the last couple of songs of Friendly Fires set after getting my stages mixed up.

Bat for Lashes

Bat for Lashes

From there I went over to the Vitamin Water stage to see Bat For Lashes, who put on an amazing show. It’s always more fun when you can tell that the artist really enjoys what they are doing and genuinely has fun performing. Natasha Kahn probably summed it up best when she said that it was hard to sing in the hot, dirty air.

I just kind of wandered around, grabbed my 3rd slice of Chicago deep dish pizza of the weekend along with the countless bottle of Sweet Leaf iced tea that I may have developed an addiction to.

I came across this in my travels to the south stages, which was the best thing ever!! It basically simulated rain and cooled you off:

Heat relief

Finally! Heat relief!!
Gang Gang Dance

Gang Gang Dance

I ended up at the Citi stage for Gang Gang Dance, who I couldn’t tell if their whole set consisted of one really really long song or if they just kept going into other songs without stopping.

The big drum thing was cool though. Hippies seemed to like them but to be honest, I was a bit bored, but stuck around as I finally met up, after trying all weekend, with someone that replied to my Craigslist posting to hang out at the show as I was doing this whole weekend solo.

It was hot!

This guy pretty much sums up the 95 degree heat for the day.

After they were done, we parted ways and I went down to watch Vampire Weekend for a little bit. They were pretty much what I expected and sounded the same as on their CD.

From here it was off to the Citi stage see a band from my current hometown of Boston, Passion Pit. I really expected more from them, but every song sounded exactly the same.

Passion Pit

Passion Pit

They drew a huge crowd to the slightly smaller stage though. I grabbed yet another Sweet Leaf iced tea and walked across the field to watch Cold War Kids from a very far distance. The crowd over here was huge and there was no way in hell I was going to try to squeeze through it, so I chilled out on the stairs for a while! I’m thinking that the large crowd was due to the fact that Snoop Dogg was going on next at the stage across from this one. Once it got closer to 6:30, I made my way down to the Chicago 2016 stage to catch his set.

A quick aside…there was this bare area of dirt down there that felt like someone had turned on an air conditioner. It was a few minutes of heaven on an extremely hot day. I’m sure there is a scientific reason for this strange little phenomenon, but I’ll take it without questioning it (my bet is the lack of people in this one spot so the air could actually flow).

I sat on one of the smaller hills until Snoop came out, then went down towards the left side of the stage for a better view. It was pretty repetitive with lots of “wave your hands in the air” and “come on Illi-NOISSSSE!”.

Snoop!

Snoop Dogg working the crowd.
Snoop!

The crowd was massive for Snoop Dogg!

He had a pretty funky microphone all blinged out. This was probably one of the largest crowds at any of the stages I had seen so far this weekend.

I took a quick walk to the other side of the park, catching some of Deer Hunter, before moving on to the Budweiser stage to see a bit of Lou Reed for no other reason than to see him. This didn’t work out too well as it was kind of hard to get through the crowd over there, and I couldn’t get into whatever song he was playing. Back to the south side.

Made a quick stop at Perry’s tent to see a bit of MSTRKRFT, who were awesome, but I really wanted to get back in time to see Silversun Pickups, who were one of the bands I had really looked forward to seeing.

Silversun Pickups

Silversun Pickups were amazing!

This was my first time seeing Silversun Pickups live and they did not disappoint. They played as the sun was setting, which made for a nice ambience.  This ranked as one of the best sets I saw all weekend.

Since I’m not a fan of The Killers (thanks Dane Cook for having Hot Fuss played on repeat for about 3 hours straight when you did your HBO taping at the Boston Garden before you came on stage!), I started to go over to the Budweiser stage for Jane’s Addiction, but Band of Horses were still playing on the Playstation stage. This stage is directly across from the Budweiser stage, which means that 2 bands should not be playing at the same time but that’s exactly what happened.

Guy climbing pole

Band of Horses makes people climb poles.

The apparently self important Band of Horses, who must think they are soo much better than Jane’s Addiction, continued to play even as Jane’s took the stage, played a song I could not hear, then went into Mountain Song, which I only knew because of the bass line but nobody could really hear because the asses on the Playstation stage kept playing. Then they played another song. Then another. The crowd around me began to yell for them to stop playing so we could hear Perry and the rest of Jane’s!

Finally… Band of Horses stopped and we could hear Jane’s Addiction who were absolutely amazing!

I left a little early to try and beat the crowds out of there, plus I had to be up by 5am for an early flight back to Boston but only ended up getting about 2 hours of sleep on what had to be the most comfortable bed ever created:

Most comfortable bed ever!

Most comfortable bed ever!

I got up and tried to figure out how to fit everything back into the suitcase, then was off to find the blue line back to O’hare, which I failed at. A stop into Cosi to ask for directions, pointed me to where I needed to go and I was on my way to the airport.

I was sad to leave the festival and Chicago, for that matter. Overall, I had an amazing albeit fast 4 days and will have to return very soon just to do some sightseeing. Thank you to everyone at Lollapalooza, the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, Jetblue, for making my first trip to Chicago awesome! I will most definitely be back in 48 weeks! See you then, Chicago! Stay classy!

Leave a Reply

