R.I.P. Peter Steele of Type O Negative

Peter Steele

After years of rumors, it finally happened. Peter Steele, singer and bassist for the band Type O Negative passed away today at the age 48 of heart failure.

I remember seeing them at the old Lupos Heartbreak Hotel in Providence for the World Coming Down tour in 1999 and being somewhat disappointed. They really didn’t seem to be into it, which went against everything I had read about their live shows. Also, some of that was probably due to being the last show of the US tour. You couldn’t even hear the keyboards (there was sort of issues with them), so at one point, the keyboardist went nuts and just completely smashed his whole setup, which was pretty awesome.

I’m glad that I did get to see them at least once though. Blood Kisses still remains one of my favorite albums of all time and Type O Negative got me through the late 90’s and early 2000’s. My girlfriend at the time had a thing for him because of the subtle way he rolls the R when he sang the word “Nosferatu”

Rest in peace Peter Steele, you influenced more people than you’ll ever know.

Leave a Reply

