Concert Review: Whore Paint, Tinsel Teeth, Arab on Radar at AS220 in Providence, RI 07-03-2010

When I heard that Providence’s own Arab on Radar were reuniting for a tour *and* playing at one of my favorite venues (which was practically a second home to me during a rough time), AS220, I absolutely had to be there! After waiting in a line that looked longer than it actually was, I finally got in and proceeded to go straight to the bar for a Harpoon UFO while waiting for the first band of the night, Whore Paint, to go on.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this band, which features members of some other great Providence bands: Teenage Waistband, Made in Mexico, and Arcing.

They definitely came through and sounded great! I would love to get an EP or something when/if they release one. My only complaint was the Nathan Explosion wannabe in the crowd that was whipping his hair around, hitting both me and some girl standing next to me.

Up next was Tinsel Teeth, a band I have seen a couple of times before and are always interesting. In the tradition of Lightning Bolt, they played on the floor instead of the stage. There was lots of noise, blood, and nakedness. I couldn’t get a good view from where I was standing, but judging by how crazy the crowd went and the size of the mosh pit, everyone was digging it.

The night’s headliner, Arab on Radar came onstage to a sold out hometown crowd that went crazy! When the first song started, the mosh pits began and continued through the whole set. No time was wasted as the band quickly went from song to song. They still sound great and seemed to be loving every second of playing in front of this Providence crowd!

This was an amazing night of noise, rock, beers, and general fun. These are the kind of shows that seem near impossible to find in Boston, but if they exist, I’d appreciate it if someone could tell me where. Otherwise, I’m going to have to move back to Providence (and that wouldn’t be a bad thing!).

Leave a Reply

