Concert Review: Broken Bells at Royale in Boston 06-04-2010

Broken Bells
Broken Bells - Royale Boston 06-04-2010

Note: I wrote most of this the day after the show. Found it in my drafts folder today and decided to go ahead and post it (after a little cleanup).

After having to take a few shortcuts to get to Alewife Station to catch the T into downtown Boston, due to the unbelievable amount of traffic on the highway, I had finally arrived at Royale Boston (formerly The Roxy), directly across the street from the Wang, where the Conan O’Brien tour had stopped. Unfortunately, I got to Royale too late to see The Morning Benders, except for their very last song, which was some droney guitar thing that I was kind of digging.

More importantly though, I was there to see Broken Bells. If you don’t know by now, Broken Bells is a collaboration between The Shins‘ James Mercer and Danger Mouse aka Brian Burton. It’s no secret that this is one of my favorite bands of 2010.

It was a fairly short set that consisted of them playing the tracks from their self titled CD, but considering that they only have one album out, it was kind of expected. There were a couple of other songs that I didn’t recognize. The main highlight was the predictable High Road singalong with the audience. The second and more interesting one was during the encore when they went into a long High Road jam that just sounded really cool and was stuck in my head for days. I wish I could have gotten a recording of it.

The only downer was the ridiculous price of drinks at Royale. 10 freakin dollars plus another buck for a tip for a jack and coke that was finished within 5 minutes.

Overall it was a very fun, but rather short night with an amazing band. I can’t wait to see them again, hopefully with newer material so that they can play a longer show.

Leave a Reply

