Concert Review: CKY at The Paradise Boston

CKY
Chad I. Ginsburg and Deron Miller of CKY

CKY is one of my favorite bands ever. As proof, one only needs to look at my Last.fm most listened to charts. I was excited to find out they were coming to Boston and even though I was exhausted, I forced myself to go, but missed all of the opening bands. For once, I was ok with that (nothing against those bands, but a nap was a little more important at that point).

We got there a little later than I wanted to, thanks to excellent detour signage in Boston (insert sarcasm tag here) and walked in during “Flesh Into Gear“, which I was told was maybe the 2nd or 3rd song, so it was still early…whew! This was the first show I’ve been at The Paradise since they remodeled and moved the stage away from that infamous view-obstructing pole. I like the new layout, which has the advantage of making it easier to get to the bars as well.

Chad I. Ginsburg
Chad I. Ginsburg

I expected there to be a huge crowd, but it was fairly small considering the following that the band has, as well as it being an all ages show. The band interacted with the crowd all night, even asking what songs people wanted to hear. A few times during the show, they would put on some crappy dance music like the Backstreet Boys or Justin Bieber and start dancing around the stage and mocking the songs. At one point there were problems with Chad’s guitar and he seemed to be pretty pissed off about it. They ended up killing time while someone fixed it, by playing more dance pop songs. Chad was getting pretty pissed off, yelling at their roadies, which was pretty entertaining.

The set consisted almost entirely of songs from before the Carver City album (possibly because there is more synthesizer on that album than the other ones?). Some of the songs they played were “96 Quite Bitter Beings”, “Sara’s Mask”, “Disengage the Simulator”, “Knee Deep”, “Plastic Plan”, and “Close Yet Far”. I was kind of disappointed not to hear “A #1 Roller Rager” since that is my favorite track off of Carver City, but I was pretty happy with the songs they played. In between songs, the crowd was loudly chanting “CKY! CKY!”.

Overall, I was glad to finally have the chance to see one of my favorite bands live. It was a really fun night and I will definitely be there the next time they come through the area, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

