Review: The Dismemberment Plan at The Paradise Boston

The Dismemberment Plan at The Paradise
The Dismemberment Plan at The Paradise

Because of the huge amount of snow piled up in Boston, as well as the ever elusive parking spot anywhere near the Paradise, I decided to take the T into the city. The downside of relying on the T to get to a show in Boston is that it doesn’t run late enough, but more on that later. I had missed the first band, Certainly Sir, but arrived before The Forms went on stage.

The first thing I noticed was the huge amount of plaid shirts, then I noticed that pretty much everyone had a beard, something that singer Travis Morrison would acknowledged during the Dismemberment Plan’s set. At this point, I cursed my inability to grow a decent beard while feeling like an outcast. Next, almost all of these bearded, flannel wearing people were drinking PBR’s (I believe the “B” in PBR should stand for “beard”, because you can’t have one without the other). I’m getting off track, this isn’t a review of hipsters.

The Forms
The Forms

The Forms which consisted of two people, went on stage. They played dance music but I just couldn’t get into it. Sort of reminded me of Javelin but different. Something seemed to be missing but I just can’t place it. I didn’t notice too many people dancing though, more of just a light sway. This was kind of disappointing since I saw a lot of posts and tweets saying not to miss these guys.

The Dismemberment Plan
The Dismemberment Plan

The Dismemberment Plan, playing their first show in Boston since 2003, walked onstage to loud cheers from the sold out crowd. The band looked really happy to be playing together again, which is usually a pretty rare thing. It’s great when a band is really enjoying themselves and looking like they are having a lot of fun! I don’t think singer Travis Morrison stopped smiling for the entire show!

The Dismemberment Plan - Travis

They started out with “The Face of the Earth” and went into a “A Life of Possibilities“. I have to say, it was pretty good setlist, which included my favorite song “The First Anniversary of Your Last Phone Call“.

I left during “Ellen and Ben” to make sure I could get back home. So, I was pretty bummed to miss “Ice of Boston“, because it would have been amazing to get up on the stage with them during it! Hopefully, the band will stay together and do another tour. Judging by the good time had by everyone, I wouldn’t be surprised if they did.

The Dismemberment Plan

The Dismemberment Plan

The Dismemberment Plan

Overall, it was a very fun night with a band that I love and hope to see again in the near future. My only regret was taking the T there, which made me miss what could have been an even more amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

