Concert Review: Guillermo Sexo, Orca Team, Laetitia Sadier at the Middle East Upstairs 9-20-12

I arrived at the Middle East Upstairs pretty early. So early in fact, that there were very few people there, which meant it was pretty easy to get a drink at the bar. I started the night out with a Sam Adams Octoberfest, which was damn tasty!

Guillermo Sexo 1Guillermo Sexo 3Guillermo Sexo 2Guillermo Sexo 4

It wasn’t long before Boston’s own Guillermo Sexo went on. Playing a kind of gazey, indie rock, they were really good with the video projections being cast across the band setting the mood for their music. Check off another Boston band that I have been wanting to see. Shortly after they started, the pretty small room started to fill in. Their set started out kind of soft and quiet, but got progressively louder as they went through the songs, making me glad I remembered to bring earplugs. The band even dedicated a new song to their friends sick cat…Elvis. There was one more song after that and they were done.

It was time for another Sam Octoberfest, which once again, was pretty easy to get. Up next, the very adorable Orca Team.

Orca Team 9Orca Team 2Orca Team 4Orca Team 12

Orca Team are a band from my beloved Seattle. With a retro, 60’s surf rock sound, this was my favorite band of the night. The crowd seemed to be into them as well. I chatted with guitarist Jessica B. after the show about Seattle for bit and picked up their newest CD called “Restraint“, which by the way, is great, although I wish I could have gotten them to sign it. Maybe next time. Oh, and did I mention how adorable this band is?

Having skipped dinner, I was getting pretty hungry at this point, so I skipped having a third beer. There was a pretty good sized crowd at this point but I managed to get a spot right next to the stage for Laetitia Saider’s set.

Laetitia Sadier 6Laetitia Sadier 7Laetitia Sadier 9Laetitia Sadier 10

Next was former Stereolab singer, Laetitia Sadier. This was only the 5th show with her current band and they sounded good. There was definitely a Stereolab-like sound to her set, but with the spacey lounge sound missing. Also, a majority of the set was politically themed, which I wasn’t really feeling. She seemed to be really enjoying herself on stage, bantering with the very attentive crowd a bit. Some guy who looked like he just stepped off of a yacht was really, really into it by standing right up front and singing along with every song. After they finished, the band walked off stage for a minute, then came back to play a couple more songs for an encore.

I ended the night with an awesome chicken rollup from Falafel Palace, which has become my post-show-late-night go to place in Central Square. Overall, it was a pretty good variety of music and I had a great time. I can’t wait for Orca Team to come through the Boston area again and I will definitely catch Guillermo Sexo as well.

Leave a Reply

