Concert Review: Kisses, YDIMITU, Dangerous Cans, Press Pause;Restart at the Middle East Upstairs 7-16-13

Although I had been wanting to see Kisses for a while now, it was kind of a last minute decision to go to this show. A quick ride on the T and I was The Middle East Upstairs. As I walked through the restaurant portion to the back of the room, there was a line, which made me fear that the show was sold out. It turns out that it was just 5 older dudes, who must have been visiting from out of town, based on them asking the girl at the door about other music venues in the area and taking their time to decide if they wanted to go to this show. Add to that the cute but somewhat quirky girl (not in an annoying Zooey way, thankfully), who was talking to herself in line behind me and it was an interesting way to start the night.

Once inside, I was surprised at how empty the club was. There were about 12 people in there. I had missed the first band, Press Pause;Restart, but Dangerous Cans were just setting up. I grabbed a Harpoon UFO and made my way to the floor area.

Dangerous Cans 3Dangerous Cans 2Dangerous Cans 1

Dangerous Cans

Dangerous Cans who come from Brooklyn via Fairbanks, Alaska, are a synth pop duo that consisted of a drummer and a singer. I mean this in the best possible way, they sounded a bit like that McDonald’s filet o fish commercial song. Charging through their set, the small crowd seemed into them as was I. I ordered another Harpoon UFO before YDIMITU went on since it was starting to get a little hot in there.

YDIMITU 1YDIMITU 4YDIMITU 5YDIMITU 2YDIMITU 3

YDIMITU

Next was YDIMITU, which was just one guy and a laptop, and from what the internet tells me is either from Boston or Brooklyn. With a laptop set up on some milk crates and a lot of colored strobe lights to set the mood, YDIMITU started his set, only to have to stop because of the extremely heavy bass knocking the laptop over during the first song. After about 10 minutes or so, he was good to go for a somewhat shortened but interesting set. I haven’t heard bass like that since I saw Metz in this same venue last year.

There was a slightly larger crowd at this point for L.A.’s Kisses, although I’d estimate it at being around 30 or so people. It was a shame that more people weren’t there, but I guess a hot Tuesday night is tough for a lot of people to get out to a show. The band did acknowledge and thank everyone for making it out.

Kisses 8Kisses 1Kisses 5Kisses 3Kisses 2Kisses 6

Kisses

Wearing a lobster print Hawaiian shirt, which Kisses singer Jesse Kivel at one point joked that he had bought it for Boston show and that this would be the only time he wears it on tour. The band went right into their kind of dark tropical pop music. Their music was also very danceable, as quirky girl proved by dancing around and singing along to every song.

During “Midnight Lover” Zinzi Edmundson’s keyboard playing had more of The Cars “Moving in Stereo sound live, than it does on “The Heart of the Nightlife” album, it worked very well! At one point, Kivel stepped down off of the stage and into the crowd while singing, which probably made quirky girl’s night.

The band said that they will be back soon and I really hope they will. It was a pretty fun night, probably because it’s the first show I’ve seen in a while, but all of the bands were great as well. I would highly recommend seeing Kisses if they come to your town.

Leave a Reply

