Review: Atlantic Thrills, Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion, Doug Tuttle, The Barbazons at the Middle East Up 4-24-2015

There were a lot of options for shows to see in Boston on this night, but I was really looking forward to this one, because it featured some really great local bands, plus having seen all of these bands before, I knew it was going to be a fun night. It as an incredibly fast ride to Central Square, especially for a day where the T was free. There was a pretty good crowd inside of the Middle East Upstairs, and the Atlantic Thrills were already playing.

Atlantic Thrills 1Atlantic Thrills 5Atlantic Thrills 4Atlantic Thrills 3Atlantic Thrills 2

Atlantic Thrills

I first saw the Atlantic Thrills at AS220’s Foo Fest in Providence a couple of years ago, where there was an insane mosh pit during their set. Tonight wasn’t quite as crazy (although the guy in front of me was dancing spastically), but their garage rock sound was a good way to kick off the night.

It was time for a much needed beer, so I went with whatever the interesting looking tap at the bar was, which turned out to be Hopponius Union from Jack’s Abby. Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion were setting up.

Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion 1Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion 3Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion 2

Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion

Beware the Dangers of a Ghost Scorpion launched right into their frantic surf rock and the energy never stopped. With their faces hidden with bandanas and wearing scorpion t shirts, they totally killed it. These guys are always fun to see live.

Doug Tuttle 1Doug Tuttle 4Doug Tuttle 3Doug Tuttle 2

Doug Tuttle

I liked the first beer so much, that I ordered a second one as Doug Tuttle were going on. They had an unusual set up that featured the drummer close to the front of the stage.There were a few new songs that I was really liking. I had previously seen Doug Tuttle at Fuzzstival last year and the more I listen to them, the more I’ve really gotten into their psych rock goodness! They have really grown on me in the last few months.

The Barbazons 1The Barbazons 4The Barbazons 3The Barbazons 12The Barbazons 11

The Barbazons

I have seen The Babarzons several times now…what’s left to say that I haven’t already? Since this was a record release party for their new LP Avec Plaisir (I highly recommend picking this album up, it’s really good!), they played some new songs from it which were full of garage rock goodness! The crowd was really into it, turning the show into a fun dance party.

It was a really fun night of local music and you seriously can’t go wrong with any of these bands. As I was perusing the merch table, one of the guys from Atlantic Thrills handed me a sticker. Since I had skipped dinner, a quest for food was in order. The now defunct HiFi Pizza has become a 24 hour Clover restaurant. Nothing against them, but the last thing I want at 1am is vegetarian food. I ended up at Mass Chicken since my usual spot had a line out the door. I ended the night with a much needed chicken cheese steak wrap with a side of cheese steak fries that totally hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

