Lollapalooza 2015 – Day 1 – 7-31-2015

After little bit of a late start, I got down to Grant park around 3pm, where there was a massive line to get through the gates for the first day of Lollapalooza. After waiting for 25 minutes in the hot sun, I was inside and wandered around to find the various stages. There weren’t too many bands I wanted to see on this day, so it was more of just walking around and exploring.

Cold War Kids 2Cold War Kids 1

Cold War Kids

The first band I came across was Cold War Kids on the massive Samsung stage, who were playing their 5th Lollapalooza. I got there in time to hear the last two songs. As soon as they ended, MS MR began playing on the Sprint Stage, which is in the same field.

MS MR 3MS MR 1MS MR 6MS MR 5MS MR 2

MS MR

MS MR came out to a very large crowd that danced through most of their alt-pop set. Singer Lizzy Plapinger completely took charge of the stage and really entertained the crowd. At one point, Tove Lo came out and did a duet with the band.

I moved on from there to get a beer from the “craft brew” area because it’s the better option than drinking Bud, which is sold everywhere else in the park. I really wouldn’t consider most of what was sold in this area as craft beers, but it comes off as more of a place to charge more for beer. I ended up with a Goose Island 312, which although tasty, would be my only beer of the day. After that, I tried the Do-Rite Donuts (whose donuts are amazing by the way) chicken sandwich which tasted amazing and washed it down with some a watermelon mint cucumber ginger lime juice from Owen and Alchemy. Hooray for nutrients! I found a spot in some shade near where the War On Drugs had just started playing.

The War On Drugs 1The War On Drugs 3The War On Drugs 5

War On Drugs

I first saw the War On Drugs at Austin Psych Fest last year and really liked them. It seemed to be a really mellow set and had a very large but equally mellow crowd, which you could tell by the smell of pot in the air.

I took a seat off to the side of the nearby main stage and waited for Alt-J to start. In the downtime a girl near me was carted away on a stretcher, I’m guessing may have had a little too much of something or other, which would be a common sight throughout the weekend.

Alt-J 1Alt-J 2Alt-J 3

Alt-J

Alt-J sounded really clear, at least from where I sitting. With a huge crowd, they played a set of indie rock and it was cool to hear “Left Hand Free”, one of my favorites from them, live.

First Aid Kit 1First Aid Kit 2First Aid Kit 3

First Aid Kit

Dillon Francis 2Dillon Francis 4Dillon Francis 3

Dillon Francis

I made my way over to the BMI stage, which is very small, to see some of Young Thug’s set. The crowd was so massive that you couldn’t get anywhere near the stage, so I moved on to Perry’s Stage to see Dillon Francis, who is one of the few EDM artists I like. This was by far the dirtiest area, with plastic cups, crushed beer cans, and trash everywhere. That being said, as always, this stage brings out a very interesting mix of people. Dillon Francis was perched very high on the stage and got the crowd fired up with a killer set of high energy dance music.

Paul McCartney 6Paul McCartney 1Paul McCartney 4Paul McCartney 2Paul McCartney 7

Paul McCartney

I went across the way back to the Samsung stage to catch some unknown guy named Paul McCartney (I kid! I kid!). This was one of the largest crowds for any bands that I’ve ever seen in my 6 times of going to Lollapalooza. The interesting thing was that it was mostly a mix of older people and lots of families with small children. I stuck around for about 6 or 7 songs (honestly, I’m not really a Beatles fan), which included a tribute to Jimi Hendrix, then went back to the Hard Rock to change and get ready for the Culture Collide after party.

Leave a Reply

