Lollapalooza 2015 – Day 2 – 8-01-2015

After a really fun night at the first of the Culture Collide after parties, I woke up early and surprisingly not hung over, despite having several of the free drinks offered. I managed to sneak in a workout at the gym in the Hard Rock Hotel, find some coffee, do some sightseeing, and then get ready for day 2 of Lollapalooza.

Toro y Moi 1Toro y Moi 3Toro y Moi 2

Toro y Moi

I got to Grant Park just in time to see one of my favorite bands, Toro y Moi. Despite the bright sun and high temperatures, there was a huge crowd gathered at the stage to see Chaz Bundick and company breeze through their not-really-chillwave-anymore-but-still-awesome mix of old and new songs.

Hermitude 1Hermitude 2

Hermitude

On a coworker’s recommendation, I went over to the Pepsi Stage to catch the Australian electronic duo Hermitude. Despite being electronic, their set was a pretty mellow (in comparison to the nearby Perry’s stage) way to spend the afternoon in the shade of the trees.

I’ll say this first, I don’t really care for the very overplayed Walk the Moon, but was curious to check them out live for a bit. There was such a massive crowd for these guys, that it was impossible to get down to the field and see anything. This is exactly what happened with Imagine Dragons on the same stage 2 years ago. So, I went over to the nearby BMI Stage to watch Elle King’s set for a while.

Elle King 1Elle King 5Elle King 4Elle King 3Elle King 2

Elle King

If you listen to XMU on Sirius/XM, then you’re probably familiar with Elle King’sEx’s & Oh’s”. Most of her set was nothing like that song, in fact it was kind of twangy and almost country. That being said, I actually enjoyed it and her banter with the audience about the songs, Ohio, and that she probably slept with most of the guys there, was hilarious! King also thanked the crowd for choosing to see her instead of Tyler the Creator who was playing on another stage the same time, which she was kind of bummed to have to miss.

Tyler the Creator 1Tyler the Creator 2Tyler the Creator 3

Tyler the Creator

I had to see some of Tyler the Creator’s set, because it’s kind of a guilty pleasure. Man, there was a huge crowd. With a stage setup that looked like a child’s bedroom, Tyler was standing a giant bed, which also had a giant rocking chair next to it. The bass was deep and Tyler led the crowd in chants of “fuck that”. I didn’t stay for the whole set, but was a little bit disappointed. Guess I expected a little more.

I hit up the Chow Town area for some food before going over to see Chet Faker, who I was really looking forward to. It turned out to be a bust due to the huge crowd at the Pepsi Stage. I couldn’t get anywhere near there. I went back to the main stage to see some of Kid Cudi’s set, who was much better than I expected. From there, I found a good spot on the little hill near BMI Stage for Mt. Eden’s set. It was a good place to sit, recharge my phone, and watch the guy sitting in front of me puke several times, then proceed to drink some more from his wine filled sport bottle.

Banks 1Banks 5Banks 4Banks 3

Banks

Banks was up next and man, that was some dark and hazy stuff. I really enjoyed her set and she seemed to have the crowd’s attention the whole time.

Metallica 1Metallica 5Metallica 4Metallica 3Metallica 2

Metallica

Although I haven’t been a fan of Metallica since the 80’s and early 90’s, I wanted to see some of their set out of curiosity. I took a walk over, but the field was so full of people, I ended up watching a few songs from the stairs in the back starting with “Fuel” and “For Whom the Bell Tolls”. At this point, I decided to head back to the hotel, shower and change, then stand in line for the second night of the Culture Collide parties.

Leave a Reply

