Lollapalooza 2015 Day 3 – 8-02-2015

After a 3rd straight night of after-parties, it was starting to catch up with me. I wandered around the city for a while to find a coffee shop with wifi that doesn’t have the words “star” and “bucks” in them, but came up pretty empty. I did stumble across Firecakes and got myself a delicious donut though. I had planned to get to Grant Park early since I wanted to make sure to see Skylar Spence, but as I arrived, there were thousands of people filing out, which previous in experiences at Lollapalooza, means a storm is coming.

Evacuation from the park

Crowds leaving the park

Storm buildings

Dark clouds starting to come in

Waiting out the rain at the Hard Rock

Waiting out the rain in my room at the Hard Rock Hotel

Line to get back in to Lollapalooza

The line to get back in to Lollapalooza

It turns out they did evacuate the park due to a storm rolling in, so I went back to the Hard Rock to wait it out. Once the all clear came through on Twitter, I went back down to the park, where there was a massive crowd of people at the gates, but I got in faster than expected. The downside to all of this is that it’s kind of hard to keep track of the revised schedule.

Moon Taxi 2Moon Taxi 1Moon Taxi 4Moon Taxi 3

Moon Taxi

The first band I saw was Moon Taxi, who were playing on the large Bud Light stage. Although I wasn’t familiar with their music, I actually enjoyed their set. At one point, they brought out Nick from Walk the Moon to do a cover of Tears for Fears “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” which was pretty cool.

Skyler Spence 2Skyler Spence 3Skyler Spence 1Skyler Spence 4

Skyler Spence

I was using the Lolla app to keep up to date on the schedule changes, but that didn’t seem to work out too well when I tried to see Skyler Spence’s set. After waiting 20 minutes at the Pepsi stage, for what turned out to be Albert Hammond Jr. setting up, I found out that Skyler Spence was playing on the BMI stage across the way. I was bummed to miss a good portion of his set, especially since that was my number one artist to see. He seemed to really be having fun up on stage, almost seeming like he couldn’t believe he was playing Lolla. Afterwards, he chatted with people along the railing, but didn’t quite make it to where I was standing…boo.

Gogol Bordello 1Gogol Bordello 4Gogol Bordello 3Gogol Bordello 2

Gogol Bordello

I took a walk over to the Palladia stage to see Gogol Bordello, who despite playing Lollapalooza a million times, I never actually saw. Jumping around the stage and playing their gypsy punk, the band sounded great. They were actually pretty fun to see, with people around me singing along to every song.

Chainsmokers 1Chainsmokers 2Chainsmokers 4Chainsmokers 3

Chainsmokers

The Chainsmokers were another of my must see bands for the day, so I cut through a very large crowd to get to Perry’s stage for their set. With lots of fire and high energy, tge Chainsmokers totally killed at Perry’s.

Halsey 1Halsey 2Halsey 3Halsey 4

Halsey

Back to the BMI stage where Halsey was playing to a decent sized and very attentive crowd. I mean, these seemed to be hard core fans, knowing the words to every song.

Wild Belle 1Wild Belle 4Wild Belle 3Wild Belle 2

Wild Belle

I went over to the Pepsi Stage to check out Wild Belle, where it was hard to get close, but that was some intense dark and spooky music.

NGHTMRE 1

NGHTMRE 2

NGHTMRE

Bassnectar 3Bassnectar 2Bassnectar 1

Bassnectar

NGHTMRE was on the Palladia stage spinning some robotic sounding EDM, which also served as a good warmup for Bassnectar, who was playing the Bud Light stage next. Bassnectar is another act that seems to be on the Lollapalooza lineup every single year or maybe it just seems like it. Either way, he was awesome and the field was filled with people dancing for the last big act of the weekend.

So, that was it for Lollapalooza 2015 and I had great time. It was good to be back after taking a break last year, and I really did miss being there, especially since festivals are my favorite places to be. I probably won’t stay at the Hard Rock Hotel again, as my stay was not as good as in previous years and I can’t recommend it anymore. Seriously, what happened to that place? It used to be fun, but now it’s just overpriced and boring. I’ll give the new Virgin Hotels around the corner a shot for sure. And don’t get me started on the hassle with Southwest at the airport when I left Chicago. In the end though, it was all worth it and it was still an amazing experience as always. I’ll be back next year for sure!

Leave a Reply

