Review: Beach Toys, Sun Voyager, Midriffs, The Televibes at the Middle East Upstairs 3-18-2016

After a faster than expected drive to Alewife to catch the Red Line train to Central Square, I was at the Middle East Upstairs for what could only be called a damn good lineup! Beach Toys had just started when I arrived, so I found a spot amongst the decent sized crowd to watch their set.

Beach Toys 1Beach Toys 2Beach Toys 3

Beach Toys

With only drums, bass, and an organ, Cambridge based Beach Toys had a psych-surf-groove kind of thing going. It was a good start to the night.

As Sun Voyager were getting set up, I ordered my new favorite beer…Jack’s Abby Hoponius Union.

Sun Voyager 1Sun Voyager 3Sun Voyager 2Sun Voyager 4

Sun Voyager

The first thing I noticed about Brooklyn’s Sun Voyager, was how much singer Carlos Francisco looked like the guy who used to live downstairs from me. But that was soon forgotten when the band started playing because I was totally memorized! Completely soaking the crowd in reverb and psychedelic garage sounds, they made more than a few new fans and were my favorite band of the night.

Midriffs 1

Midriffs 2
Midriffs 3

The Midriffs

Next were lo-fi punk/garage rockers The Midriffs whose thrashy sounds had people moving. That was a fun set!

I had another Hoponius Union and wandered around a bit as The Televibes were getting set up.

The Televibes 1The Televibes 5The Televibes 4The Televibes 3The Televibes 2

The Televibes

This was originally supposed to be a “farewell to Boston” show as The Televibes were going to relocate to my beloved Austin, but I guess things change (in a weird coincidence, I might not be moving there either…damn you high rents and low paying jobs!). Perhaps this could be called a “we’re staying in Boston” show instead. The band played a very high energy set that had the crowd dancing nearly the whole time. They even brought up a guy named Pete to dance during “Asyd” (video above) and his energy was not lost on a crowd that followed his lead. I saw this dude do the same thing at Fuzzstival last year and it makes for a fun set.

I had a really fun time at this show and was totally blown away by Sun Voyager, but really all of the bands were great! You can’t go wrong with seeing any of them.

Leave a Reply

